Department of Chemistry

Brief Profile of the Department

The Chemistry Department was introduced as P.G. Centre of Calcutta University from 1976 with M. Sc. student intake capacity of 16 to fulfill the demand of the students of Tripura State. First of all only the Analytical Chemistry specialization was introduced in M.Sc. Part-II course. In due course, the P.G. Centre (Chemistry Department) of Calcutta University became the full-fledged Department of Tripura University from 2nd October, 1987. With the recruitment of faculty members in Chemistry Department, the Department started three special papers viz. Inorganic, Organic and Physical chemistry in M.Sc. Part-II. The state funded Tripura University was converted in to Central University w.e.f. 2nd July, 2007 and the Department of Chemistry has got new dimensions of expansion.

Year of Establishment:

1976 (Calcutta University’s P.G. Centre) Department of Chemistry of Tripura University (state) on 2nd October, 1987; Department of Chemistry of Tripura University (Central) on 2nd July, 2007.

Head of the Department:

Prof.S. Majumdar

Major thrust Area of Research

  • Synthetic inorganic chemistry, Co-ordination chemistry; metal complexes
  • Synthetic organic methodology, ionic liquids, synthesis of bioactive molecules, natural product chemistry
  • Quantum chemistry, surfactants and colloids



Total Number of Visitors : 1184343

Tripura University © All Rights Reseverd

Last Update : 22/09/2019 06:34:17

Designed and Developed by Dataflow System