About University

Tripura University is the main Central Government University of the Indian state of Tripura. Tripura University provides post-graduate courses in sixteen subjects while the various Departments, Directorates and Centres within it provide 38 degree courses. All twenty four general and technical colleges, within the state, are affiliated with Tripura University. Situated on the sprawling 75 acres (300,000 m2) of land, donated by the State Government, at Suryamaninagar, ten kilometers south of Agartala this University is constantly aiming to deliver a great place of education and knowledge.

The University established under Tripura University Act in the Assembly in 1987 which is the backbone of the University and there on is always continuously advancing in ‘Pursuit of Excellence’.


Higher education in Tripura had a late start. Maharaja Bir Bikram (MBB) College, the first degree college in the State, started functioning under the University of Calcutta only in 1947.

Virtual Tours

Visit below links to have a look different Departments, Students Hostel facilities and Central Library

Offices & Administration

Tripura University Office and Administrative section is carrying out and looking day to day and managing the people working in the office

University at a Glance

Established 2 October, 1987

Student Enrollment

  • Undergraduates:
  • Graduates:


  • 79 acres total area of the campus
  • Master Degree programmes:
  • PG degrees:
  • Ph.D. degrees:
  • Books in the Central library:
  • Affiliated institutions :

Faculty/ Employees

  • Officers :
  • Teachers:
  • Non-teaching staff:


  • University Departments :
  • Directorate of Distance Education :

Total Number of Visitors : 1767118

Tripura University © All Rights Reseverd

Last Update : 02/04/2020 15:40:48

Designed and Developed by Dataflow System